Product Review: The Scootababy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES I hiked up a mountain, people.

Oregon.com describes the climb to the top of Multnomah Falls as  “A moderate, 2.2-mile hike with 700 feet of elevation gain to the top of Multnomah Falls, or a difficult 5.4-mile loop to Wahkeena Falls with 1,600 feet of elevation gain.”

Stella is describing it as, “A beautiful very slow walk up the side of a mountain where you actually ask yourself several times why you’re doing it. Then you realize your child, who you strapped to you in a baby carrier, weighs 75 lbs, not 25 ending in a medal-worthy, post-baby-body-challenge that makes you feel like a million bucks, both up and down the trail.”

Additionally, Oregonhikers.org describes this as a family friendly hike.  I know that we were completely friendly all the way up and all the way down, and my husband was actually super supportive once he understood how determined I was to show my kid that “Mommy could do it” (which perhaps really meant, “Show myself I could do it.”)

So, as any good award should go, I’d like to thank Scootababy for creating the most comfortable baby carrier I’ve known thus far (I’m on my third with my chunky punk).

But then I went ahead and decided to DIY some stuff. With football season right the corner, I wanted a baby carrier that could hold my camera, my water, kiddo’s bottle, and perhaps a few of my personal items for him and me.

I got this, this, this , this and this to help really “build out” the baby carrier. There’s nothing wrong with Ergobaby, it was just too hot for me to wear, and I love the Scootababy’s side orientation so that my boy can see everything “with” me. The Scootbaby’s belt reminded me of a workbelt. After some well spent time on Amazon, I found these items (and MANY more like it) tha twould totally help you customize your baby carrier to meet you and your lil one’s needs without having to break the bank and save your hands from having to carry tons.  That said, all this fancy schmancy plus the carrier itself cost me about $10 more than one who Ergobaby. I have a kid who’s in the 98th percentile both in height and weight, and trust me, it’s a quality, comfortable product.

A motherhood moment though, I’m pretty proud of myself for hiking up there. For being determined. For feeling weak and pressing on. It was such a huge accomplishment to hit the top of that mountain, lil man next to me and say that line from the Lion King to him, “Everything the light touches is our kingdom” (okay, I didn’t but you get me.)  Of course, he was sleeping by the time I hit the halfway point on the way down, but I felt like running across a finish line.

I’m starting a new diet soon, more on that later, so this little “you can do it” moment helped me remember that I’m stronger than I think, but also, I need to do more for my own self confidence, and remember I’m made of much sterner stuff than I give myself credit for.

Have a great week. Stella.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

