21-Day Fix: Day 1

Okay, admittedly, I hate me some diets.  But sometimes, I know, we need to tell ourselves to PUT DOWN THE CHEESEBURGER. Admittedly, I lost 110 lbs 5 years ago. or more than 5 years ago, but it felt that way, because the second we decided that we’d be “going forth and multiplying” I fell into that martial bliss of allowing myself to eat. Plus it all started around Thanksgiving and Christmas. So when I finally found myself knocked up, I had an extra 10 lbs I wasn’t really digging.

Then, I fell hard. I mean, I will tell you now, I didn’t deserve it – but I’m the pregnant lady and mom you love to hate. I had no morning sickness. I had nothing that said “you feel terrible because you are pregnant”. I LOVED pregnant. I hated the Gestational Diabetes that basically told me, “Woman, you need to get your eating together” in the end, and I really hated the 65 lbs I put on.

Today, I really hate the 50 lbs I still have left to lose. I look at my husband’s thin and “normal” body – and wish for the days that I used to catch him looking at me. He’s been so supportive telling me that I’m still sexy, that it doesn’t matter, but I know inside, it matters. Because it matters to me how I feel. But then, I turn to food for comfort – and after these past 6 months of new job, new baby life, new everything – I just can’t find to find the person that I am – the pre-marriage, pre-baby me is gone, and that’s “fine” to an end – I still am still much her, but then there’s this new part of me, that cannot find her footing yet. So I eat to feel comfort, to make myself feel special, to find peace in a food coma despite the chaos of what is now my life.

So here I am, Day 1 of the 21 Day Fix – the diet sweeping the nation. Admittedly I spent the weekend prepping our meals. It wasn’t really hard. We normally eat the same things for breakfast and lunch every day and then I switch up dinners.

First the bad news:

  1. No wine. In fact, no juice of any sort really. It counts as a starch much to my husband’s downside. He used to drink a juice every day, now he still does, but it takes away from our starch count. Additionally, it asks you to avoid fake sugars, including my beloved splenda, so that’s a bit difficult when it comes to my favorite flavored waters and morning coffee.
  2. 30 minute work outs are hard. In fact, I saw the sheets with the exercises and thought, “Sure, I used to do 30 minutes a day on the elliptical, in fact, more than that most days, I got this”. Holy mother. I can’t walk downstairs or go pee without trying to sit down and wondering if I’ll make it. That said, they are quick and satisfy my need to move and feel tired at the end of the day. I also like the 7 different days worth of moves so that my attention remains focused on the task as each of the exercises is “only a minute” and it gets me through each one to the 20 second break into the next muscle group. It’s nice to have pre-set guidance as well for those of you who also find the gym a scary “too many options” type of place.

Now, the good news:

  1. It’s alot of food. Admittedly I eat the oatmeal in the morning right when I get to work, and then spread out the rest of breakfast until lunch. Then I eat lunch, saving my carrots or fruit for the afternoon. Then I eat dinner (relatively early) and then we work out after little dude is in bed. I’m more satisfied stopping and having a moment for a snack/small meal than trying to wolf something down that I have scavenge for on the fly – attributing alot of this to packing my lunch and being given parameters on how and what I should be eating. It reminds me a bit of the Gestational Diabetes diet, and there’s some comfort in not having to think so much.
  2. It’s only 21 days.  I know that a diet is a lifestyle change, but right now, I need a short game. So I keep telling myself, just deal with this 21 days. See what happens. THEN take the next step. Do I do another “rep” of the 21 day plan….it’s not for me to decide just yet, I just want to get through 21 days.
  3. I’m happy. I find that my brain is satisfied going to bed. I’ve worked out. I’ve eaten and felt comfort. I don’t dread the guilt that I wake up with knowing that I overindulged. In fact, if I get through 21 days (and I will!) THEN that’s when I’ll treat myself, but then again, I’ll start the next cycle. Maybe. Again, see my last point, I don’t know yet, and I don’t have to. I’m allowing myself that freedom.

Breakfast this week

  • 1 c Oatmeal, steel cut, cooked – I found a no sugar, no anything “bare” variety at the store.
  • 2 c berries
  • ¾c cottage cheese – I found prepacked ones in the dairy section, thought admittedly they aren’t a full 3/4c and perhaps the measuring and prepacking it yourself is worth the extra two or three bites.
  • 1 c Tomatoes – I normally pack an entire roma tomato then slice it at work with some salt and pepper.

Lunch this week:

  • 1 1/2 C Chicken (Baked in oven with Pam and Greek Seasoning, 350 degrees for 30 minutes)
  • 1 whole roma tomato and 3 leaves of romain lettuce
  • 10 baby carrots
  • 1c Grapes
  • 1 cheese stick
  • 1 wheat wrap

Dinners this week:

  • Zoodle Carbonara – 2 c. of spiralized zucchini ¾ c + 6T of fat free ricotta,  2 cooked slices of reduced fat turkey bacon plus after dinner snack of 8 pretzel thins and 2.5T of peanuts. I used this spiralizer – watch your fingers (I didn’t.)
  • Breakfast Hash -3 eggs over medium topping a bowl of oven roasted sweet potato (1/2 c), cauliflower (1 cup), tomato (1 cup) and at the last 12 minutes, topped with chopped reduced fat turkey bacon (2 slices)
  • Grilled Turkey Sausage Tacos -1.5 cups turkey sausage and 1/2 cup of rough chopped green onion grilled in Pam placed on 2 corn tortillas. Side dish of 1 1/2 cups of green salad with 2.5T of diet dressing. (I use that horrible zero calorie stuff from the diet section, but you can fudge here.)
  • Yep – I survived a work dinner. Knowing that I have to have 1.5 cups of protein, and 2 cups of green and only a 1/2 cup of starch – I was able to manuever myself through the buffet line without feeling like I wasn’t going to get my fill.
  •  Salmon Hash with Yukon Gold Potatoes and Herbs–1/2 cup of potato, 1/2 cup of onion, 1/2 cup of celery (all roughly chopped)  plus 1 cup of cauliflower florets roasted in the oven for 40 minutes after being tossed with about 1/2 a cup of fresh herbs – parsley, dill and thyme in this case and liberally salt and peppered, then topped with 1.5 cups worth of a whole salmon filet (skin on) for another 15 minutes at 400 degrees until cooked through.
  • Taco Bowls – 1 cup of steamed cauliflower “riced” with some taco seasoning.  1/2 cup of cooked whole black beans, 1/2 cup of pico de gallo (cilantro, tomatoes, onions), 1/2 cup of shredded romaine lettuce,  1 cup of lean steak grilled with salt and pepper, 1/2 cup plain yogurt with mexican spices.
  • Slow-Cooker Turkey Sloppy Joes – 1.5 c turkey plus ¼ c chopped onion and 6 oz tomato paste, 15 oz tomato sauce into a slow cooker – cook for 8 hours on low. Serve with 2 corn tortillas and  1 1/4 c steamed green beans.

So since it’s the internet and you’re all closest-wose-est BFFs, here we go:

I weighed 210 lbs on day one. My thighs were 25 inches around, waist of 36 and hips of 45. Pray for me. I need all the help I can get.

Banner Image: Shutterstock/Blisstree

Leave a Reply

