21 Day Fix: Midpoint

I cheated. and I’m not exercising. Let’s just air out the dirty laundry now. The first week of exercise hurt so bad that by Friday, I was physically in pain to stand up from chairs. Yes, I remember child birth – and it wasn’t this bad. And I’m not being sarcastic. My legs. felt. like. cement.

That said, by the weekend, you want it to be “the weekend” and eating lettuce and kale all weekend didn’t sound like fun. Now, I’m trying to mentally train that food doesn’t result in mental comfort. However, sitting at a restaurant being served and being allowed to relax with my husband IS.

So, we went walking at our local market square area and ended up going to get Mexican Food. It can be done people. We shared a platter of beef fajitas – 2 corn tortillas only. No chips and salsa beforehand. We cheated with about 3 T of guacamole. We had some rice and beans that added on two servings of starch we shouldn’t have had.

Then, we found out my in-laws were in town, and our best friends were available for dinner the next night. So where did we find ourselves? At another Mexican restaurant. This time, we cheated with 5 chips and salsa. Then I avoided all the tortillas, had 1/2 cup of beans and rice each. (instead of just 1/2 cup) and then had steak with veggies on top. This time, I doubly cheated with the sour cream and guacamole (1/4 cup each). But again, overall, not terribly bad.

First the bad news:

  1. Cheating is okay. I don’t like it. Because it really causes more guilt for me than I should even allow myself to suffer. But I guess that means the diet is “taking” when I start to feel bad about my choices.
  2. I’m barely losing weight. I was down tot 204 last Friday, and it’s only moved up or down a pound every day. I see that I’m losing inches, and this is great, but not seeing the needle move is demotivating for sure.

Now, the good news:

  1. Cheating is okay. I need to realize that I’m allowed to have foods here and there without the world falling apart.  Not every weekend needs to be a smorgasbord, but sooner or later, not everything must follow the strict rules of a diet.
  2. I’m starting to feel like I could manage this diet.  At least on a weekly basis the routine of our work day allows us to pack our lunch (most of the time) and definitely decide on our own breakfast. This plan is flexible enough in these areas that I think I could stay full during the day and not have a tendency to want to go and overeat. Additionally, the dinners are easy and quick, which makes choosing them as work week meals simple.

Breakfast this week

  • 1 c Oatmeal, steel cut, cooked – I found a no sugar, no anything “bare” variety at the store.
  • 2 c berries
  • ¾c cottage cheese – I found prepacked ones in the dairy section, thought admittedly they aren’t a full 3/4c and perhaps the measuring and prepacking it yourself is worth the extra two or three bites.
  • 1 c Tomatoes – I normally pack an entire roma tomato then slice it at work with some salt and pepper.

Lunch this week:

  • 3/4C Chicken (Baked in oven with Pam and Greek Seasoning, 350 degrees for 30 minutes)
  • 2 hard boiled eggs
  • 1 cup of snow peas
  • 10 baby carrots
  • 1c Grapes or 1 c berries
  • 1 cheese stick
  • 1 wheat wrap

Dinners this week:

  • Warm Couscous Salad – the recipe modified from this one at A Cup of Jo. I took out the goat cheese and the butter, reduced the oil and added in 1.5 cups of protein-packed light ricotta.
  • Work dinner buffet – I had half a cup of refried beans, half a cup of mexican rice, 1 cup of chicken fajita meat, 1 cup of pico de gallo and 1 green salad. CHEAT ALERT: I had 1 small scoop of ranch on my salad. and my only “excuse” is that I don’t have oils during the day, so all 5 teaspoons of fats were right there. MORE CHEATING: I had the pudding at the end plus a few glasses of wine to start. Complete diet fail.
  • Dinner out with Friends at this beautiful place: they had tons of choices of grilled fish or chicken with vegetables. I went with the salmon and the meal was still very comforting just to have friends and talk rather than focus on what beautiful cheeses I was missing out on.
  • Quinoa Chicken Fried “Rice” – 1/2 cup of quinoa cooked, plus 1 cup each of sauteed carrots and snow peas (not english peas!), 1.25 cups of cooked chicken and 1 egg scrambled in with some soy sauce and chinese five spice to taste.
  • Steak Salad – 1.5 cups of lean steak cooked medium rare and cubed or stripped depending on your preference.  Added to 1 cup of tomatoes and cucumbers, 1 cup of romaine lettuce, 1;2 cup of cooked lentils and 2.5 T of dressing: I add 1 T of balsamic to 1 T olive oil and sprinkle with herbs de provence.
  • Greek Meatballs & Tzatziki with Greek Salad – 1.5 cups of lettuce, tomato and cucumbers topped with the same dressing as the Steak Salad Night. Take 1 cup beef and add in greek seasoning. Form meatballs (or even a meatloaf) and bake at 400 for 35 minhutes. Take 1/2 cup of yogurt and add in some mint, salt and pepper and sherry vinegar. Then chop up 1/2 cup of cucumber, very fine, and stir in. Serve with meatballs on a whole wheat wrap.
  • Chicken Burrito Bowl – 1/2 cup of black beans, 3/4 c chicken, 1 cup of pico de gallo, 1 cup of roasted cauliflower and 3/4 c of cumin spiked whole greek yogurt. Stir together in a bowl, eat!

So since it’s the internet and you’re all closest-wose-est BFFs, here we go:

I weighed 210 lbs on day one. My thighs were 25 inches around, waist of 36 and hips of 45. I am now 205 lbs. My thighs are 24.5 inches around. My waist is 32 inches and my hips are 44.5 I guess that means it’s working.

Banner Image: Shutterstock/Blisstree

Leave a Reply

