A Boys’ Life

Two nights ago, I was sitting on the patio with my husband. My son shouted, “Look Mommy! A dead frog.” Words every mother yearns to hear. I looked to my left, just in time to see the petrified carcass of a frog hurtle through the air and skid across the patio to my feet. I must say that the body of the frog was remarkably well preserved. I briefly considered sending the frog to the Museum of Natural Science and History for their “Mummies of the World” exhibit. Needless to say, my son’s hands were scrubbed thoroughly before dinner.

The following night, I was cleaning up the kitchen after our meal. My husband burst through the back door and announced, “Honey, I need a plastic container for keeping worms.” Excuse me, come again? He began ransacking the Tupperware cabinet. Yes, that’s right. He fully intended to use the Tupperware, that I normally use for leftovers, as an earthworm receptacle. Luckily, we found a plastic container that once housed Crystal Light packets for the job. Then, both he and my son ventured into the yard to collect earthworms. After my husband had found a worm, my son excitedly exclaimed, “Good job, Daddy!” Sigh. Boys.

Why were they collecting earthworms? I asked myself that very question. Apparently, they had decided to go fishing the following day. The worms stayed in my refrigerator overnight, which was lovely. They loaded up the truck with their fishing poles and equipment. My husband looked at me and asked, “Honey, are you sure you don’t want to come with us?” Nope. I watched the truck reverse down the driveway. Then, I enjoyed about five hours of frog-free, worm-free peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

